• (314) 428-2600

 Journeying through Grief

A Simple, Powerful Way to Care for People Who Are Grieving

Journeying through Grief is a set of four short books to send to people at four crucial times during the first year after the loss of a loved one.

Author Kenneth C. Haugk writes in a warm, caring style, with short, easy-to-read chapters. He walks alongside the reader through the grief journey, sharing helpful insights about grief, biblical truths, and stories that provide comfort and reassurance.

Four Books at Four Crucial Times

Book 1: A Time to Grieve
. . . sent 3 weeks after the loss

Book 2: Experiencing Grief
. . . sent 3 months after the loss

Book 3: Finding Hope and Healing
. . . sent 6 months after the loss

Book 4: Rebuilding and Remembering
. . . sent 11 months after the loss

Each book focuses on what the person is likely to be experiencing at that point in grief—offering understanding, empathy, compassion, and hope.

Additional Translations

Journeying through Grief is also available in Spanish and Chinese.

Who Uses Journeying through Grief?

Video:  A sender of the Journeying through Grief books tells about how the books have touched her life and the lives of those she’s shared them with.

Many different types of people use Journeying through Grief to care for a wide range of grieving individuals. Here are just a few examples.

  • Pastors, parish nurses, and congregations send the books to grieving people—members and nonmembers—in the congregation and community.

  • Individuals share them with family, friends, neighbors, coworkers, and others they know after a loss.

  • Hospitals, hospices, funeral homes, retirement communities, schools, military chaplaincies, and other organizations send them to people they serve who are grieving.

  • Many businesses and professionals use them to care for grieving people—for example, a dentist sends them to patients, a teacher gives them to colleagues, a stockbroker shares them with clients, and an HR director gives them to employees.

Whatever your situation or setting, Journeying through Grief provides a simple, effective way to reach out to a grieving person again and again during that difficult first year.


What Comes with Each Set of Journeying through Grief

Every set of Journeying through Grief includes:

  • a copy of each of the four books

  • four mailing envelopes for sending the books

  • a Tracking Card that makes it easy to remember when to send each book


Journeying through Grief Giver’s Guide

A helpful handbook for those who are giving the Journeying through Grief books to others, the Giver’s Guide provides:

  • suggestions for how to use the books

  • ideas for tracking when to send each one

  • sample letters to personalize, adapt, and send with each book

  • a simple system for sending a larger number of these books to many grieving people